Speaking Up

HAHAHA. I just wanted to share you guys what my mom showed me as we were going back home from Pateros.We were both laughing at the banner infront of Pateros Cemetery. I asked my mom if she wanted to accompany me to the Memorial Park where my grandparents are buried.

It was a long ride to the place, and for a long time, we had a morning spent together (my mom and I) since we usually go different ways every morning. So it wasnt just some sort of compliance with a tradition of visiting our departed loved ones every November 1st (come to think of it, it ain’t November 1 yet.)

When we got there, the usual scenery everytime we went there. Different food stalls are being placed near the gate of Garden of Memories. Tricycles and cars pass by a lot, and tents were built, for those who would stay there for the afternoon.

Its past ten o’clock when we got there. I sit down on the fresh cut grass, still with dew. Mom stays near the benches, since she finds it hard to sit on the ground. I was alone again. Infront of me, was a tombstone, with two names. ( yet, there are four people there) And as I lit two candles, I started to pray.

As I muttered my last graces, I heard someone across the lawn, talking to the tombstone. Yeah, I find it stupid. Its like ” Oh c’mon? Let the person rest, ayt? ”
The little kid was talking to the person in the tombstone was a male name ( maybe he’s father) and started talking about his experiences in his third grade in school. To some, they may find it absurd doing such, but a thought came to me as I see this little boy show his report card facing it to the flat, cold tombstone.

And because I am a bit inggitero myself, I tired doing it too. Yes, it did try to relieve me of the stress I am feeling, but in the back of my head, I know that no one is there to hear it but the living, and myself.

Yes. At times, we try to keep our feelings to ourselves, waiting for some so-called ‘right time’ to tell these.

Why can’t we just get the courage and speak up how we feel for the persons we love, and not when we’re infront of a deep hole, teary-eyed and regretting how we let the days passed without even getting to say how we feel.

Author: Josh Jimenez

A 24 year old Pharmacy student from Manila, Philippines He enjoys drinking Chamomile Tea, with Clean Bandit Tracks on deck, while reading his books, or jotting up notes for his next blog post.

Leave a Reply

