One

One month has passed.

That one encounter with something I thought was love.

One sweet promise, that I hoped would not be broken.

But it turned out to be one painful experience to learn so much from.

December 31, 2012.

I lay in my sofa bed, two hours before everybody yells their lungs out to welcome the New Year. I close my eyes and imagine that lingering moment whenever I lay here, head towards the wall. I see him, facing me. Smiling. A month ago, it was a story I thought deemed to last longer than a wink of an eye. He was everything I thought I would never have (or so I thought). He laughs a lot, and smiled alot too. He would tell me he ain’t good-looking, but I would tell him it didn’t matter. Not to me. I was more to that, and I know he knows that very well. He was a bit teasing, and I knew how to play around. But sometimes, we just had to say ‘play times over.’

And I didn’t expect him to say that so early. I would ask myself, “Where did I go wrong?,” “Where did we go wrong?” I begged to make him stay, and asked if he would want to take things slowly. But when he asked for some space, I sure gave him lightyears of it. The hardest part was finding out how coquettish he was. The downcast feelings turned to a revengeful aura, each tear that fell was a curse to him.

And then, things dawned on me. He was just not right for me. Because of what I feel, I tried to write my own love story, and let Him do the proofreading. I guess I was wrong with that. He made all things happen in the right place, and at the right moment.

Ten minutes more, and its 12:00 AM on my clock. I lay in bed, the firecrackers get louder and louder into the night. Later, it will be another year. Another year that will challenge me, test me to my limits, and I will find happiness one day. Hopefully.

Author: Josh Jimenez

A 23 year old Pharmacy student from Manila, Philippines He enjoys drinking Chamomile Tea, with Clean Bandit Tracks on deck, while reading his books, or jotting up notes for his next blog post.

Leave a Reply

