Glimpse of You

I took a second glance on the guy who sat infront of me in the jeepney. There was this feeling in me that made me think twice if I should say ‘hi’ to this good-looking guy wearing a striped polo shirt, and what seemed like a foldable pair of reading glasses in his pocket.

He was fair-skinned and had rather messy hair. His nose seemed perfect, and he smelled of my favorite cologne. The urge has been battling inside of me if it was really him. Perhaps a look-alike? Maybe so.

These thoughts kept running in my head, when unexpectedly, in between glances that I throw to this guy, he suddenly looked at me, and gave me a weak smile.

Shit! I was so caught off guard right there and then! I smiled back, just to fend off the awkward situation that befell me, and looked the other way. But I would glimpse an instance or two, towards this bespectacled guy. I just couldn’t help it. Yes, in a way he did remind me of you and how I once looked at you beside me inside the classroom.

You would ask me why, then I would smile and tell you to stop minding me and my weirdness. And then, you’d turn loose sheets of paper on your desk, or the back of your notebook into instant sketchpads, with a pen on your hand. I still kept some of them, and smile whenever I remember you sketch our favorite anime characters. We shared a liking for music, and I still kept that pair of Katekyo Hitman Reborn! Headphones you gave me for Christmas, and whenever I think of you, I use them while listening to my favorite songs. I broke all my other earphones, but for 3 years, I’ve had it with me, with all the stuff that we shared.

I would glimpse an instance, or two, and saw all your actions through this guy infront of me. The way he took off his glasses, it kills me inside, that for the longest time that I have kept you locked inside my heart, someone who actually resembles you, makes me remember you once more. Has it been a year already since we last chatted? I can’t remember quite well. But the late night conversations we had, would always be in my heart, no matter what.

I’ve been with other guys, since then, but I always looked for you in them. I’ve seen other girls, since then, but you’ve made me cry like no one can.

I alight the jeep, and I was sure enough it wasn’t you. But the brief encounter, how absurd it may sound, I’ll admit, it made me happier. It made me whole.

Author: Josh Jimenez

A 24 year old Pharmacy student from Manila, Philippines He enjoys drinking Chamomile Tea, with Clean Bandit Tracks on deck, while reading his books, or jotting up notes for his next blog post.

Leave a Reply

