Thank Glob its Stressed-day! (Part 1)

What could be more depressing than an afternoon, staring at your laboratory notebook, and reminding yourself that you’ve been so sloppy the past few days and you suddenly get this sort-of wake up call from your professor. .

(Thinks deeply)

That would somehow be so annoying, really. Let me start of the story.

4th of July, 2012. Wednesday.

Another typical wash-day school morning for me, as I rushed out of the house on my black shirt, grey jacket, worn-out jeans , my favorite rubber shoes, and with my sling bag on my right shoulder. It was favorite part of the day, in my school week. Not just because we’re allowed to wear our casual clothes to school, but because I only had 2 subjects – Physics and Chemometrics, from 8:00 to 10:00 AM.

Unlike the usual ‘itinerary’ that I would do on a Wednesday, I wasn’t in the mood to go mall-hopping after class, especially with the bad weather roaming above us. Its  it’s been raining hard for two days already, and I was catching a cold because of it. This time, I planned to clean my laboratory glassware , write on my lab notebook for Friday’s experiment, and go home. ( I decided that I would only go out during Fridays to Sundays, so both of us can have time for ourselves)

So, my Wednesday started off with a lesson on Free Fall Motion, during Physics class. (I was not prepared with the discussion! *whew* Good thing I was able to read in passing some of the concepts while waiting for the professor, and that I wasn’t called to recite.) He wrote a few examples on how to use the formulas for free fall. After the short discussion, he decided to dismiss us, so I rushed downstairs for my next class.

I’m not saying  that I am was that great with Statistics back in MandSci, but I can say very well that I do well than most of my classmates when it comes to computations (with a calculator, that is!).  It’s true! I totally loved Statistics. I loved how Mrs. Mangaliman taught us Statistics for 10 months back in my Junior Year. But somehow,  I began to have doubts in me after that grave mistake I committed during the last exam, and for the benefit of my readers, despite it being so shameful for me to tell, I’d rather spill the beans now:

It was our second quiz, and it was all about Frequency Distributions, and Ways of Presenting Data. We were give the raw scores, and we had to arrange them in an array, fix the distribution table (if, you get what I mean.) then graph the Ogives and the Frequency Polygon on a separate sheet of graphing paper.

Ever careful, always careless Yours Truly, made a slight mistake, that cost me my grade for the particular exam.  I wrote the wrong formula, for me to be able to start constructing the frequency table, and it affected my whole exam. Rather than writing 1 + 3.33 log (n), I wrote 1+ 1.33 log (n)

Oh yes, and my score? Much more forbidden to tell. Much more sacred than an Egyptian God’s secret name.

Thought that was all of it?  Wait until you’ve read the rest.

Leave a comment